Concertos for the home (and the painfully alone)

Concertos for the home (and the painfully alone)

J. S. BACH: Italian Concerto BWV 971
F. LISZT: ‘Gretchen’ from A Faust Symphony S. 513
Ch-V. ALKAN: Concert transcription of Mozart Concerto in D minor K 466 for solo piano with cadenzas

Paying tribute to Californian solo-project musician Owen Ashworth and 19th-century virtuoso composer-pianist turned recluse Alkan on the 100th anniversary of his death, Kerry Yong gives a solo piano recital of music that maybe shouldn't be for solo piano (Cover Me Concerto?)

Strictly speaking the works aren't all concertos: Liszt’s ‘Gretchen’ is his own solo piano transcription from his Faust Symphony. And although piano transcriptions played an important role in nineteenth-century domestic music making and music dissemination, Alkan’s concert transcription of Mozart’s celebrated Concerto in D minor may have fulfilled more personal artistic interests. Written around the same time as his own Op. 39 Concerto for solo piano, this homage incorporates cadenzas, solo and orchestral passages with similar aplomb, self-sufficiency and eccentricity. The programme opens with Bach’s brighter prototype, the Italian concerto where the double-manual harpsichord writing mimics the contrasting soloists and orchestra.

Kerry Yong, solo piano

Sydney Conservatorium of Music
Macquarie St, Sydney NSW 2000
Recital Hall West
6.30pm Tuesday 3 September 2013
General Admission: $20/15/10

The Forge
3-7 Delancey St, Camden, London NW1 7NL
8.00pm Tuesday 15 October 2013
General Admission: £9/7